Aristillus

A large crater to dump my thoughts

Flexitarian

leave a comment »

I’m not a vegetarian. I’ve never been, and I don’t see myself giving up meat in the near future. But, unlike your average carnivore, I only eat meat or (more commonly) fish once or so a week. I’m not a big fan of large lumps of meat, I don’t like the texture (plus, it’s a lot of effort, all that chewing). Another part of it is the impact of meat versus vegetables on the environment, perhaps not in terms of CO2 emitted (given the amount of flying I do, that would be hypocritical), but certainly it helps a bit in terms of the amount of overall land required.

Unfortunately, restaurants, hotels and airlines take “regular” to mean “shall include heaps of meat”. So every meal ends up basically being built around a large part of undercooked beef or something equally tasteless. With two weeks of travel this often means meat for lunch and dinner at least on the days when there is catering.

A fellow frequent flyer recommended the vegetarian meals, as he found they were often better quality and delivered before the “regular” meals. For the last year or so I have been trying it out and, while it haven’t really noticed the food being of better quality, it does mean I get to eat less tasteless airplane chicken (versus tasteless vegetables). Recently I’ve also started putting myself down as vegetarian for other things (organized conference dinners, work sprints, etc) and that has been working out pretty well. If I really crave meat I can always eat it during one of the nights that the food is not pre-organized.

Written by aristillus

April 30, 2011 at 21:21

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

