Aristillus

A large crater to dump my thoughts

Former Yugoslavia

leave a comment »

Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness.” – Mark Twain

My first trip to the USA was a real eye-opener. All I had “seen” from the US up to that point was from movies and TV series. It involved drugs, drama, gangs and an unreasonable amount of violence. Some of the syndicated “real” TV shows painted an even worse picture, and portrayed wild car chases, domestic violence (“Cops”) and really (and I mean really) messed up families (“Jerry Springer”) as things that were normal day occurrances. If that, all nicely fitting in with the Dutch stereotypes about Americans, is all you can go by, then the US seems like a pretty fucked up place. Imagine the surprise of 17-year-old me when he found out that the people were not the fat lazy egoistical gun nuts he was expecting them to be.

Now, as I’m (properly) travelling through the Balkan for the first time, I am undergoing a similar experience to the one I had that first time I traveled to the US.

Written by aristillus

August 16, 2011 at 02:20

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , , ,

Leave a Reply

