Aristillus

A large crater to dump my thoughts

Happy 2012!

leave a comment »

Hopefully this is the last year we’ll hear that nonsense about the Mayan calendar. Not that it matters, I’m sure there are plenty of other apocalypses coming our way.

In good tradition I spent this New Year’s Eve at the the Brandenburger Tor in Berlin with some friends. Nothing like good company and a geek recharge. Unlike the last couple of years, I took it easy on the alcohol (or perhaps it was the mild weather?) and seem to have missed out on the conference flu this year. It is kind of nice to not spend the first few days of the new year in bed.

The concept of good intentions for the new year is fundamentally flawed – and I hate it. But I have some good intentions for 2012 anyway. Read all day seems like a pretty good idea. I don’t even manage to finish a single book per month these days (down from a couple per week 5 years ago), so I’m going to try to carry a book with me when I can and see if I can use some spare time for reading. Oh, and perhaps finally getting that amateur radio license.

Written by aristillus

January 3, 2012 at 03:36

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.