Aristillus

A large crater to dump my thoughts

Reading update

leave a comment »

The Paradise War by Stephen Lawhead

I was somewhat obsessed with the Arthur saga when I was in my teens, and I read and enjoyed Lawhead’s entire Pendragon Cycle at the time. I liked this book too; it is not unlike your average war/fantasy book – though a very well written one.

The Otherworld in this book reminded me a lot of the inner world in Indian Jones and the Interior World. Both otherworlds are counterparts to the “real” world and somehow can influence each other. There is an elaborate mechanism for travelling between worlds, and time in one is a lot different from time in the other.

Max Havelaar by Multatuli

One of the best known Dutch books, which for some odd reason I never got to read in high school. I’ve heard a lot about the contents over the year, and didn’t learn much news there. My main surprise was that it actually did rather well as a book to read and enjoy, not just as a political pamphlet.

Written by aristillus

October 9, 2012 at 01:30

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

