Aristillus

A large crater to dump my thoughts

Leaving on a Jet Plane

leave a comment »

I like being in the sky, free as a bird, hanging under a kite or a couple of hundred kilograms of plastic. I detest travelling by jet engine airplane.

I hate waiting for security checks, for boarding, for customs, for luggage, for delayed flights.

I hate being squeezed into an uncomfortable chair with not enough leg room, in a small aluminum tube with several hundred other grumpy people.

I hate the conditioned low-quality air in jets. It causes that annoying greasy feeling on your skin and makes you feel like you badly need a shower.

I hate the impact the extravagant kerosene consumption has on the environment.

I hate having to plan my travel around pre-booked non-changeable flights.

I hate having to spend hours of layovers on airports with overpriced kiosks, fast food chains and book stores that sell nothing but John Grisham paperbacks.

I hate the silly security checks at airports. I hate having to take off my shoes and belt every time I go through a checkpoint. I hate having to watch what I pack to prevent my drinks or tools from getting confiscated. I hate having said items confiscated when I inevitably forget.

I hate jet lag.

Yet – for the moment – you will still find me in one of these metal tubes every couple of weeks. There is only one good thing about modern air travel: it gets you places, fast and cheap.

Written by aristillus

January 6, 2013 at 19:02

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

