Aristillus

A large crater to dump my thoughts

Code is expression

leave a comment »

Besides a mathematical inclination, an exceptionally good mastery of one’s native tongue is the most vital asset of a competent programmer.

– Edsger W. Dijkstra

I write a lot less code now on a daily basis than I used to. For years I pumped out a few thousand lines of code a day on average. Since I quit my job in October I have slowly reduced the amount of time I spend programming – just temporarily, I’m sure. I haven’t seriously harmed any source code since Christmas.

To my surprise I find that as I spend less time producing text in programming languages, I feel more inclined to write in human languages. The same urge to program that used to get me out of bed in the morning (or early afternoon) now drives me to write. Programming is as much an art as it is a craft, it seems.

Written by aristillus

January 17, 2013 at 01:26

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

