Aristillus

A large crater to dump my thoughts

Interruptions

leave a comment »

I hate being interrupted by phone calls, and I’m annoyed by people who expect quick replies on instant messaging or SMS. Harald Welte expresses it so much more succinctly than I ever could:

It is simply impossible to get any productive work done if there are synchronous interruptions. If I’m doing any even remotely complex task such as analyzing code, designing electronics or whatever else, then the interruption of the flow of thoughts, and the context switch to whatever the phone call might be about is costing me an insurmountable amount of my productive efficiency. I doubt that I am the only one having that feeling / experience.

So why on earth does everybody think they are entitled to interrupt my work at any given point in time they desire? Why do they think whatever issue they have rectifies an immediate interruption in what I am doing? To me, an unscheduled phone call almost always feels like an insult. It is a severe intrusion into my work-flow, and has a very high cost to me in terms of loss of productivity.

Written by aristillus

January 17, 2013 at 21:42

Leave a Reply

